Preschool Inspirations

The world is their playground!

DIY Sea Stars

4 Comments

      DIY Sea Stars

I love how beautiful and unique sea stars are! However, there are none close to me (besides the ones I brought back from beaches). I decided to do an experiment with my preschool class to see if we could make our own sea stars. My main goals for this was to create a realistic structure that can withhold the abuse of preschooler. I am thrilled to share that they fit the build! These have been dropped several times on the floor and still survived. Here’s how we did it.

Materials:

Sea star ice cube tray  from IKEA

Pastina pasta (they are tiny stars)

Plaster of Paris

Optional items — colored sand or liquid watercolor

Instructions:

First we decorated the inside of the sea star tray. I let the class decide between colored sand, pastina, or both. Once the decorations were pressed into the bottom of the sea star mold, we were ready to make our plaster. We mixed the plaster of paris (2 parts powder to 1 part water) and added liquid watercolor to some. It took quite a bit to even slightly change the color. We quickly poured it into our mold and waited about an hour…and voila! I am so thrilled with how well these turned out and how unique each one is. The pastina fell out of one, but I think it only made it look even more realistic. If IKEA was not an hour away, I would probably be stalking their ice cube tray selection to make more!

This project has been featured at:

Discover & Explore Weekly Themed Linky
Author: Katie

My name is Katie, and I have been an early childhood educator for over 12 years. I am passionate about child development and teaching children with the most relevant methods available. I have "retired" from working in a preschool center setting, and now I teach at my licensed in home preschool. I believe in inspiring other parents, teachers, and caregivers to provide the most appropriate and exciting learning experiences we can offer to our children.

4 thoughts on “DIY Sea Stars

  1. Pingback: Ocean Crafts | Fantastic Fun & Learning

  2. What a neat idea! I love the addition of the pasta for texture. Thanks for sharing in the Discover & Explore linky. I’m featuring this post today.

    • Thanks so much Shaunna! It was one of my most favorite projects, and all of the kiddos wanted to carry them with them all day. I am a huge fan of your website. It’s such an incredible resource!

  3. Pingback: Chunk | Artist Mickie Lynn

Leave a Reply

